Harry Potter + probiotics

My husband and I live under a rock.  Not literally, but when it comes to the entertainment world, we might as well be.  We don’t have cable TV, and the 5 channels we actually do get we hardly ever watch.  We’ve been together nearly 6 years now, and I think we’ve seen about 4 movies in theaters.  It’s not that we don’t enjoy watching movies (more so him than me) or catching up on our celebrity gossip (more so me than him) – it’s not that at all!  One of my favorite parts of the week is the 20 minutes I’m required to sit in the waiting room of my ENT’s office after I get my allergy shots.  Why?  They have a subscription to People magazine!  It’s my one opportunity a week to frantically flip through the photos and articles to catch up with the rest of the world. 

So you can imagine how excited we were when we decided to go see Harry Potter 7 – Part 2 in theaters last night.  I know.  We’re about three weeks late and 5 viewings shy of everyone else.  But hey, we practically had the theater to ourselves.

Watching movies at night is typically a pretty calculated decision for me…there are several criteria used to select the movie, as anything from the violent, thriller, sci-fi, horror, and action genres are usually off limits.  Watching any of these movies too close to bedtime results in restless hours laying awake in bed, listening for bad guys entering my house, and horrible nightmares if I do somehow manage to fall asleep.  Needless to say, we’ve been watching a lot of documentaries on Netflix lately.

So agreeing to see a 7 o’clock showing of my boy, H.P. was a little bit out of character for me.  Although I know it’s all made up and fake and blah, blah, blah, I still get anxious after seeing any amount of violence.  So during the drive home, I was already planning out ways to help myself fall asleep…

But then we got home and plans changed.

Meet Roxie:

Looks cute and innocent, right?

Not so much.

We arrived home to a mini disaster: Roxie had decided to get into to the bag of Walgreens items sitting on the kitchen counter.  Tampons, toothpaste, wedding cards…but that’s not the worst of it.  No, not for this little devil.  She found a box of 60-count probiotics (used for digestive health) and ate EVERY LAST ONE!  Do you think it would be fair to say we’ll have some GI issues to take care of in our near future?!? 

These little green tablets were packed in those plastic cards where you have to punch each pill out individually through the little aluminum foil seal – and she had meticulously removed all 60 of them!  And gobbled them down.  All I can say is, wow.

So between stressing about the movie, frantically explaining the situation to the on-call vet (and being assured she’d be fine), and cleaning up Roxie’s tornado-like mess, I was so exhausted I went to bed and passed out immediately.  Technically, I have Roxie to thank for my good night’s sleep. 

But I can’t let her know that, she’s in the dog house with me.

One thought on “Harry Potter + probiotics

Leave a Reply

